Wine Returns to The White House, Part 2

Wondering what Obama drank his first day in office? Well Decanter has the answer
LINK HERE
and as expected, it is all American wine. My only wonder is Korbel? Really? I’m not a fan of California wines in general (though I do like a number of them), but one thing I think this state does well is solid mid-range sparkling, which doesn’t include Korbel.

For those too lazy to click the link the list was:
Duckhorn Vineyards 2007 Sauvignon Blanc
Goldeneye 2005 Pinot Noir
Korbel Natural ‘Special Inaugural Cuvée’ which I will assume is NV, and possibly sweet, given that it was served with dessert.

~ by Cory Cartwright on January 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Wine Returns to The White House, Part 2”

  1. And I’d have sworn that the new administration would be demanding Puzelat Vin Petillant Naturel!

    • I would hope not, then I couldn’t find any. I just think there is better California sparkling available, and in fact of all the wine made here sparkling tends to be my favorite. Might I suggest Gruet from New Mexico as an alternative?

Leave a Reply

 
