Look at Me All Easy to Read

People have been complaining about the old layout being difficult to read, so (because i’m a spineless Democratic senator) i folded and gave in to whatever they wanted. Hope you enjoy!

(Note if the outcry is strong enough i will flip-flop no problem. Tell me what you think.)

~ by Cory Cartwright on January 26, 2010.

17 Responses to “Look at Me All Easy to Read”

  1. Oh, hell. Most honestly, the old layout was fricking unreadable — like, getting cataracts just squinting at the thing — despite the fact that it was very stylish. This layout is eminently readable but (you’ll forgive my, well, pulled-punch “bluntness”) very ungainly.

    I don’t know what to tell you. Is there no middle ground?

  2. Bravo. My 48 old eyes had a hard time whiteon black.

  3. Ha ha. Very funny. PUT IT BACK.

  4. All I can say is yuck and yuck. The new version looks like a mobile version of the old version.

    It’s all about the content. we’ll continue to read how ever you present it.

  5. Much easier to read, yet too much white space.

    Probably best with some middle ground… are you completely grayscale-centric?

  6. Thanks, it’s more readable. How about something like Sharon’s or McDuff’s webpage look? (but please continue to post more frequently than Ms. Champagne).

  7. Tom, unfortunately they are on blogger and I am on wordpress. Blogger seems to have the better themes, but I’m invested in this site so I’m stuck with what they give me.

    I think the solution is that eventually I’m going to have to go ahead and build my own theme for this site instead of relying on someone elses. For now I’ll leave it as is and get more feedback and go from there.

  8. Thanks for the response I do not want to cause you a lot of work.

  9. Easier to read, yes, but Damn Ugly.

  10. Make the blog easier to read and then everyone is a design critic. Sheesh. As long as it is easy to read and the content continues to be great, who am I to tell you what it should look like?

  11. http://www.levoltz.com/2010/01/06/100-best-wordpress-premium-themes-of-2009/

  12. Oops, those are pay. I meant to send http://www.toptut.com/2009/05/07/100-best-wordpress-themes-you-are-going-to-use-and-love-in-2009/

    Find a good source for themes, determine your desired layout (one column, two column, etc.) and grab one you like. Colors are easy to change; layout, much less so.

  13. This is much easier to read, but as others have said, dull. Not of course, that I should talk given how bland my site is.

  14. Softer would be better. The bright/white has no personality.

  15. Much easier to read but ugly as sin, my friend. If you want something straight out of the WP box, check out DoBianchi’s theme. But then you’ll have to worry about the look-alike curse. Haven’t checked out Andrew’s suggestions yet but there’s got to be something decent out there. Better yet, couldn’t you just tweak the font size on the old template to make it larger/bolder?

  16. I actually liked the old site, quirks and all. This layout doesn’t have nearly as much personality. BTW braised pork butt with Pecina and Lopez Rioja must have been pure pleasure. Was it?

Leave a Reply

 
