These Few Things i Know About Barbera


(Photo stolen from Jeremy Parzen)
So last week Jeremy Parzen over at DoBianchi drops me a semi-cryptic e-mail that says “hey dude, wanna come to Italy with me?‏” Initially i thought that this maybe message was merely to qualify for Jeremy’s christmas list or somesuch. (I have been receiving a lot of cryptic messages lately, but this may be because most of my messages are cryptic to the point of nonsense, but that’s another story).

So anyway getting back to Italy, it turned out that Jeremy was serious, and that furthermore, i was going to be in Europe on business at the same time so i would be free to come along. so with that said, apparently i’m going to go blog at something called “Barbera 2010” in Asti with a group of rather more serious bloggers than myself.

So what do i know about barbera?

1. Not a whole lot. Jeremy asked me to come along because i don’t do many Italian wines and when it comes to this i’m pretty fresh. i have a few favorite producers, but beyond that it’s all up in the air.
2. According to wikipedia, barbera used to be known as “de bonis vitibus barbexinis” , and if it were up to me it would still be called this.
3. From my experience, barbera, when done right, is food wine in the purest sense. It’s got acid, so i’m there.

That’s about it, but that’s soon to change.
So i’m going to be blogging about this thing and trying to figure out risotto for the next two weeks, eating good food, tasting barbera (and afterwards barolo). Don’t worry though, i will not be posting tasting notes or point scores for 400 barberas because if you’re reading this, you know i don’t do that here. Expect more of a travelogue (is there a better word for that?). So here’s to getting to know all about barbera:


(That should be James Taylor singing “Getting to Know You” but if it’s not, sue me. i’m not listening to James Taylor sing “Getting To Know You”)

~ by Cory Cartwright on February 27, 2010.

9 Responses to “These Few Things i Know About Barbera”

  1. Cascina Francia by G. Conterno and the B. Mascarello are my faves. Codana by G. Mascarello is great but got to expensive.

    I hope you get to taste R. Voerzio Annunziata as that is like motor-oil of the highest spoofilation when it comes to Barbera. One of the only wines that literally made me gag.

    Have fun man . . .

  2. Tasting 400 acidic wines is going require a lot of food, seems like.

    How about travel notes and a drinkologue?

  3. I haven’t had a lot of barberas (no more than ten), but i’ve only had one good one (Preston of Dry Creek) and the rest (from CA and Italy) have been dismal in my estimation. Maybe they required more food to enjoy.

  4. I love piedmontese reds. I believe that Barbera is slightly different than Nebbiolo, which is related to the grape used in Barolo in Barbaresco — but the folks saying it is strong certainly match my experience — which is why the heavier, more meat-oriented food of Pidemont is perfect.

    Listen to Monteverdi’s Orfeo while drinking.

  5. Barberas are great. I don’t know what these people are talking about. Tasting four hundred of them sounds like hell. How about ‘ordeal?’

  6. Could you make the font point size here a little smaller?

  7. Hey Cory,

    If you have the chance, taste the “sponty” barbera d’asti’s from Carussin. These biodynamic wines are simple, pure and fresh expressions of barbera. They are extremely food friendly. The basic cuvée “Asinoi” is my favorite – look for the cartoon donkey head with flowers in his mouth. If you meet Bruna, Luca or Luigi – send my regards from Norway!

    -cheers

  8. sorry for the cryptic email man! ;-)

    I’ll see you in Asti a week from today! it’s a good group of folks we’ll be tasting with…

  9. […] Cory launched his series of posts on his Barbera “experience” by These Few Things I Know About Barbera. I really dug the honesty he shared in the post: So what do i know about […]

Leave a Reply

 
