i like wine

The other week a friend was over for dinner and we were talking about, of all things, sourdough starter. i told him how, upon receiving a new sourdough starter (new to me, the starter itself is 40+ years old) from my father in law i promptly cooked it while building it anew.

What happened was i had warmed up my oven with the starter inside because my apartment was freezing and all of a sudden the bank called with questions that needed answering right then. So i spoke to tem for a long time and in the process forgot all about the starter and only later, when the apartment started smelling faintly of baked bread, i realized that i had indeed cooked it and it was dead and gone (don’t worry though, it’s line still lives).

At this point my friend looked at me and said “i guess some of these slow foods aren’t really compatible with things like phone calls from banks.”

Now of course i could turn this into an op-ed piece from the 1980s about the need to slow down and do things like cook meals etc., but that isn’t where i’m headed.

We were drinking, earlier that night, a bottle of 2006 Clos Rougeard, made in the glacial caves below Nady Foucault’s house in Chace. It was a wine that took a great deal of care to make, and having been opened a full day, a wine that took some time for us to drink.

These things stuck with me.

i like wine. It’s why i started this blog, why i decided to quit my job last year to try and make (decidely less) money selling the stuff.

For a moment i’ve been thinking about quitting the blog. It has come to me that perhaps what i like best about wine, slow inebriative dinners over bottles and bottles of wine, letting barolos open up for hours and hours before stirring risotto, listening to Ramon Montoya on repeat.

At times i think i’ve gotten across my joy about the wines i’ve loved, at times i’ve been boring, and at other times i’ve gotten into the thick of the philosophical battles that really seem only to be most heated on the internet.

Sometimes these little internecine battles seem so sexy at the time, natural wines, traditional, etc. But shit, i’m not a winemaker and yet i’ve been involved in discussions that people, actual honest to god working winemakers, are figuring out with their hands, in their cuves, and down in their cellars far removed from some kid on the internet. i merely drink it, enjoy it.

These things will come and go on the internet. We bloggers could have a million pointless discussions about terminology, pat ourselves on the back, fight, make up, wonder what the next big thing is, the next region of Belarus no one has discovered in the time it takes Lopez de Heredia to release one vintage of wine.

The good, honest producers will always make good, honest wine. The producers more interested in marketing and branding than wine won’t.

i like wine. i like some natural wine. i like some unnatural wine. i think that i have put way too much time into worrying about terminology and philosophies that have perhaps only become codified in the blogosphere. The blog has a way of of making me think too much about things that aren’t really any part of why Arriana Occhipinti makes such beautiful frappato. I took a stand on the term “natural” for god’s sakes, like somehow the word had become wine, that it really mattered what i said when the word was merely a catchall term for a loose group of people who had decided to try and get back a lot of what was lost in the rush for modernism. Here i was 30 years after the fact going on about what amounted to semantics. Fuck me.

So i like wine. This is what’s left. i’m not going to shut the blog down, but i really only want to write about why i like wine. The pleasure of it. i’m going to open a bottle of Alain Coudert Fleurie tonight, cook something slow, look outside at the lake, walk my dog, and simply enjoy it.

– Cory

~ by Cory Cartwright on November 4, 2010.

24 Responses to “i like wine”

  1. You were too serious then and you’re being too serious now. Too many proclamations. Relax and learn.

    You’re new to this racket.

    • Thanks Joe. I used to enjoy writing this blog, but I’ve been trying to find the groove again. Seriousness and wine blogging is a recipe for boredom.

  2. i like your blog, cory. always have. and would be seriously bummed if you stopped blogging.

  3. Word! Thanks Cory.

    Eric Pottmeyer
    Sec Wines

  4. It is useful to have doubts about what you are doing. It is good to be serious about why you like wine. You’ve got a good thing going, here.

  5. Coincidence I pulled a bottle of Coudert Fleurie tonight, it had a defective cork and had started leaking. Wine was still OK, hope your phone call went as well.

  6. Hey corey, you know, it’s good to stand for something. To be a part of a group linked by a common philosophy. But it can be restrictive, especially when everyone gets so serious. So get back to the wine, what you like. When we get too fussy it gets less fun. Just blog on…be sincere like always. great post.

  7. Cory,
    Be as serious as you want. Or any way you want to be.
    You seem to like life and wine and shared a part of yourself on this post. Thanks a bunch!

  8. Way to go Joe. The kid puts his heart on the table and you stomp it.

  9. Dear Joe, would you kindly put a cork in it?

    Sincerely,
    Everybody

  10. i like Joe’s comment. Why should i take this all so seriously?

  11. Cory,

    I appreciate watching you go through the machinations. Tonight, I got into a dispute with my boyfriend (who may not much longer be my boyfriend) about my inability to “turn it off.” I see this more as a virtue than a fault. It’s good to think and analyze – even better when you know you’re doing it and know you should stop, but I don’t think it’s necessary to have to stop.
    I like to watch and read what’s happening here, and I just request that you keep it honest, inquisitive, and critical (I mean that in a philosophical sense.) I’ll keep paying attention, as an errant 20-something with a keen interest in wine and an inability to find my own voice about it.

  12. When a passion for categorization replaces passion for the drink itself……it is great fun to discuss, to uphold, to bash, but in the end, dogma of any sort is not good for honest wines. Bravo for your words.

  13. Cory

    Just write when you want and what you want to write about. Fuck expectations.
    I often feel like people start to expect certain things even from small-time me. “You should write more often”, “you should write about my wine”. I just want to write when i feel like it. I don’t want it to become a job. Sometimes I write once a month, sometimes it’s four times in a week. Very often it’s after drinking a bottle of wine that inspired me and motivated me to write. Sometimes that bottle is a bottle of Jean-Pierre Robinot’s Concerto and other times it’s a bottle of Dr. Loosen’s Graacher Himmelreich Kabinett
    Your problem is (or isn’t) that I like to read your posts because I find them interesting and I am positive that others do as well. I always remind myself, quality not quantity. Weather I relate that to writing, food or wine..

    Cheers Cory!

  14. Joe’s comment is perfectly fine. If he told me that, I’d take it as constructive criticism and sage advice.

    Maybe it’s a function of my age and that I joined my first serious tasting group over 30 years ago, but wine is supposed to be fun. Of course, there will be times when it isn’t. When the times that it isn’t far outweigh when it is, that’s the time to step back.

    Or just open another bottle.

  15. Aw, dude, you found the Cucurrucucú Paloma performance from Hable con Ella. You rock.

    • Almodovar, and especially Talk to Her, are favorites of mine. One of the few scenes in cinema that can bring a tear to my eye every time.

  16. Cory,

    Sure, the facts are there. You’re not a winemaker. The blogosphere is sometimes filled with mindless bickering and banter. You love wine. You sometimes have doubts.

    Some more facts… I am just an average guy. I am not in the business. I don’t write a blog. But I love wine. And I visit your site often to reassure myself that there are others out there who also love great wine. Wines that matter. Wines that have a sense of place. Wine made from people who care.

    Cory, you celebrate wine, and you celebrate life. I applaud you for this. And I applaud you for sharing it with all of us. You say the things I wish I had the talent to say. You are gifted in your naturalness and ease. Embrace it. We do!

    Cheers!

  17. I like the fact that your blog will no longer drone on and on about bread starters. I want more wine likery!

  18. Cory, say no more. enjoy.
    greetings from Norway, with a bottle of Miss Ochipintti right there from her, to us, without so many bla bla in between.

  19. Write about what you are passionate about and leave all of the rest behind. You have to enjoy the experience because if you don’t there is no point.

  20. It would be such a shame if you quit writing. I thoroughly enjoy your blog whether it’s serious, fun, or whatever. You’re right – at the end of the day, it all comes down to enjoyment. Keep the faith and here’s to Bacchus!

Leave a Reply

 
