A Generic End of Year Post About Some Good Wines I Drank

This is an obligatory end of year post that all wine bloggers have to do as a matter of law. It’s main function is to show off the wines I drank last year and make me look like an asshole. Please pay it no mind.

1990 Gentaz-Dervieux Cote-Rotie. This has long been on my list of wines i wanted to try before I die at the age of 42. Thankfully a friend tracked a bottle down i drank it. Beautiful, beautiful wine.

Olivier Lemasson “Everything Olivier Lemasson Makes” I would have no problem drinking Lemasson’s wines everyday. Seriously, this is where’s it’s at.

1999 Henri Gouges Nuits-St.-George. I have this friend who has the uncanny ability to open wines when they are showing well, even wines as notoriously testy as Gouges wines. When he saw i had this bottle he immediately knew it was good to go. An it was.

1995 Clos Roche Blanche “Eleve en Fut de Chene” Not sure of the exact composition of this one, but it was beautiful.

1989 and 1988 Maximin Grunhauser Spatlese. Sometimes wines can change your whole perception of everything. These were just such wines. Not only did this deepen my respect for riesling, but wine in general. It still seems like this wine is just on the tip of my tongue.

There were other wines, of course, but looking back through the year those are the ones that stood and punched me in the face when i tried them. My next post will be less generic, i promise.

-Cory Cartwright

~ by Cory Cartwright on January 6, 2012.

5 Responses to “A Generic End of Year Post About Some Good Wines I Drank”

  1. Lemasson. Fuckin’ yeah. I can never have enough in my house. Heard he was also experimenting with mixing his wines with Cantillon brew.

  2. You are an asshole.

  3. +1

  4. He does make a beer with Cantillon called “Pinot D’Aunis” unfortunately it is only available at the brewery.

    Arjun, true.

  5. Many people would be sad if you died at 42. I would be devastated.

Leave a Reply

 
