Frank Cornelissen Susucaru 2

Frank Cornelissen is a producer i keep coming back to in order to try and understand what other people are getting out of it that i’m not. It’s not that i think the wine is awful, although the bottles i’ve drank have been wildly variable, i just don’t get them as an object of cultlike obsession. For that reason i keep spending my money just to satisfy my curiosity.

Frank Cornelissen, who is a Belgian vigneron making wine on the slopes of Mt. Etna in Italy, makes wine in a style that can only be described as “non-interventionist.” This means that there is as little involvement as possible for the winemaker in getting the wine from vine to glass. No chemicals, either in the vineyard or during fermentation or bottling. There is no fining nor filtration and no sulfur used at any time.

This particular bottle is Cornelissen’s rosato, a blend of Malvasia, Black Muscat and Nerello Mascalese (from what i gather from Garagiste, the source for most of the bottles that find their way to the U.S.). It’s the third bottle of this particular wine that i’ve had, and i have to say i still don’t get it (especially the high 14.5% alcohol content). It’s an interesting wine, and definitely worth checking out, even if you feel the way i do at the end of the bottle.

So i guess, after writing all this, that the point was really to ask you, dear reader, what you thought of Cornelissen’s wines, especially if you are into them. It’s just that kind of lazy tuesday post.

Listen to this. It’s good, i swear:

~ by Cory Cartwright on May 5, 2010.

11 Responses to “Frank Cornelissen Susucaru 2”

  1. I like them! I don’t know anyone obsessed with them, but to me, there is this crazy freshness to them. Last two bottles I had rocked – one of which was the Susucara 2 (one of the 4(?) best ros(e)s I’ve ever had. I’ve yet to have a Magma…the only wine that could fall (price-wise) into the Cult category.

  2. Er, wrong posting name – sorry.

  3. My interest has to do with the singular uniqueness of Etna as a terroir and his very ideological approach to practices. I agree with Jack, I like them. Intensely pure and vibrantly fresh are my impressions also. What I have found in the glass was something very distinctive, that really seemed to reflect Etna (at least what I imagine a wine produced on an Sicilian volcano would taste like) and finally that I enjoyed drinking.

  4. Cory

    I for one love the wines of Frank Cornelissen (as you already know). I consider myself lucky living in Norway due to the fact that it is rather easy for us to find his wines here. Ironically though, the rosé has never made it over here.
    It’s not easy for me to express why I like his wines, just like it’s not easy for me to express why I like certain visual artists or musicians. They just make me feel good when I look at them or listen to them. Just like the wines of Frank Cornelissen. They just give me a certain energy and make me feel good when I drink them.
    Having consumed around a 100 bottles of Cornelissen’s wines, I have to agree that the bottles can vary a bit. This is something I actually look forward to because it can bring a different experience every time. Each wine is alive and has its own personality if you will. This being said, I also know what to expect when I open a bottle of Frank Cornelissen wine.

    -cheers

  5. I finally got to taste this wine (the first I’ve tasted from Cornelissen) in Chicago the other day. I did like it very much but didn’t find it had the depth that maybe I expected from the hype about it. I did find it utterly delicious though. Thanks for all the background info here… I’ll let you know what I think when I get to my 100th bottle man…

  6. I’m with you, Cory. Am intrigued with his whole thing, but certainly not as blown away as some of my pals. I like his stance, and I like it a lot; ditto the singularity of them and his approach.

    I intend to spend a little more time with his whites.

  7. I do love the wines, they are some of the closest examples of ancient wines I can find. As in art, we have all forms, and genres; in wine we seem until recently to have one, now more natural wines. Frank’s seem different, almost like experiencing what Romans, Etruscans, Templars, etc might have drank. I know they are hard to understand for some, but I do believe they can be great food wines, especially with tables of variety. They are indeed singular!

  8. […] I love his Contadino and absolutely go crazy for his Munjebel Bianco.  I have never tasted his Susucaru (so I can’t comment here, sorry Cory) and I don’t particularly love his Munjebel Rosso. […]

  9. I’m drinking the Susucaru 2 now. It is certainly the most interesting rose’ I have ever enjoyed. Fresh, tart, slightly effervescent, almost like a very mild and short burst of sour pop rocks chased with a high alcohol pinot noir. As others have said, very hard to describe and even now as I read my description and keep tasting it, I’m not sure how accurate it is. For interest I have 2 glasses out. One I poured over an hour ago and have left out, the other is fresh and cold from the frig. I think the ideal drinking temp is a bit below 60 degrees. I’m not ga ga over his wines, but find this one in particular quite refreshing on a hot summer evening.

  10. […] about the wines of Frank Cornelissen than at Saignee and, ubi major minor cessat, I will defer to Cory’s excellent blog for a treatment of Cornelissen and the cult that has taken shape around […]

  11. […] about the wines of Frank Cornelissen than at Saignee and, ubi major minor cessat, I will defer to Cory’s excellent blog for a treatment of Cornelissen and the cult that has taken shape around […]

Leave a comment